Jason
November 27, 2014, 03:59:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Taking Running Photos that don't suck  (Read 4112 times)
bmulnix

View Profile Email
« on: January 25, 2011, 04:33:00 AM »

Well since I take photos for a living, I would like to chime in a little about taking photos while running. 

Number 1 Rule of Photographing while running... Stop to take a photo. 
   Explanation is simple.  If you take the time to carry a camera with you, its really important you use it.  Also by stopping you will get a better shot than while running. 

Number 2 Rule of Photographing while running... Carry a camera
   If you don't take a camera you can't take photos.  Pretty simple rule, but too many times I have found myself in the coolest places, without a camera.  A camera attached to a phone is a good backup, but you wont be winning any National Geographic on assignment awards for photos taken from a camera phone.  There are a lot of great cameras out there that are light and simple to use.  Some even have video. 

Number 3 Rule of Photographing while running... Stop to take the photo
   I know its the same as Rule number 1, but no training run is that important for the most of us to not stop and enjoy the view.  Take the photo and share it with others.  I really wished I had a camera this one night I ran into a drunk trying to find his way home at 2 AM in the middle of no where.  Boy the look on his face when he saw a crazy runner with a head lamp come running by.  A photo is worth a thousand and 2 words.
Jason
Administrator

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 01:23:21 PM »

Thanks for the tips, Brandon!  Any more advanced tips?
fred

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2011, 09:34:39 AM »

I have a question on this: