Jason
September 20, 2014, 12:55:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: SMF - Just Installed!

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Transitioning  (Read 3293 times)
jzeigler83

View Profile
« on: January 27, 2011, 09:26:46 PM »

I've been running in shoes since August 2009.  I am now considering barefoot/minimalist running.  Currently I have a knee issue that I'm recovering from and I plan on starting to transition into barefoot/minimalist running once my knee feels 100%.  So I was wondering what the best way to transition into barefoot/minimalist running is.  I have researched a little and I know that the process can require great patience and I am prepared for that.  Right now my plan is to try running barefoot for a short distance at the end of a 2-3 mile run (hoping that since my muscles will be nice and warmed up that I will have less risk of injury).  I plan on doing this a couple times a week for a few weeks before trying an entire run completely barefoot.  From there I will probably throw a couple of barefoot runs into my regular routine each week and play it by ear, increasing or decreasing my barefoot running in response to how my body reacts.

So am I headed down the right path here?  Is it better to work barefoot running into my regular shoe-wearing running routine, gradually increasing the proportion of barefoot running over time.  Or is it better to try to go all out barefoot, just starting out at very low mileage and working it up very slowly?

Any advice is welcome.  I wouldn't mind to hear how other people transitioned into barefoot running.

Sorry for the long post.

Thanks,

jzeigler83
Jason
Administrator

View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2011, 02:36:38 AM »